Correcting Irregularities of Play in Backgammon Games

Backgammon rules don't only cover specific items during the game. Part of the set of standard rules will also deal with handling irregularities or correcting mistakes made by players. Part of the rules every player should follow concerns common courtesy on and off the game. We will handle the rules that are indirectly associated with how a backgammon game works in this discussion.

It is understandable that backgammon players will make mistakes now and then. Errors during a match will occur from time to time since it does happen to the best of us. A relevant fraction of the mistakes that players make have to do with how they handle the dice, which is why we will deal with rules concerning that first.

When you roll your dice you should roll both of them together, which means you have to place both of your dice in your shaker or cup, shake them together and roll both of them out. Your dice should land flat on the surface of the backgammon board. They should not land on a checker or land cocked. If the dice don't roll as prescribed then the player must roll them again.

One note is that since the backgammon board is divided in the middle by the bar, players should roll their dice on their right side of the board. If the dice jumps off to the other side of the board or rolls off the board then that player should roll the dice again.

The next question is when do backgammon players get to roll their dice and when does one player's turn end. After rolling your dice correctly you should make your moves. You can take back moves since there is no touch move rule in backgammon. Best practice is that you return checkers to their original positions first before trying a new move. Once you're done making your moves you then pick up your dice. Once you have picked up your dice your turn is over.

One side note is that this rule is not that strictly adhered to in situations where there is no longer any contact among opposing checkers or during the bear off. This also applies if one player's play is forced.

Your opponent may not roll dice until your turn is over (i.e. you've picked up your dice). Rolling dice before the opponent has finished his turn is an illegal roll and will not count. Now, if your opponent has finished his turn and you notice that an illegal move was made (a checker moved not in accordance to the roll of the dice etc.) or that your opponent's turn is incomplete (i.e. missed using the other number from the dice roll) then you either have to ask your opponent to correct that error or accept the moves made as they were. These are the backgammon rules indirectly associated with the game action.


|
Close